Call them Capsicums

Santa Fe Stuffed Peppers

Pinterest vs. Reality: Santa Fe Stuffed Peppers

Oh the joys of little differences living abroad. In Dubai, most produce is called by its British name. Therefore, bell pepper is capsicum, zucchini is courgette, and eggplant is aubergine. I can never remember to call cilantro coriander. My spellcheck doesn’t even understand courgette or aubergine.

So I suppose I’ve made Santa Fe Stuffed Capsicums, recipe from Skinnytaste. Skinnytaste is a fantastic source of inspiring recipes! This is a good one when you’re craving Mexican flavors but want to keep it lighter. It also yields a lot, and makes great leftovers.

Santa Fe Stuffed Capsicums

Capsicums and Coriander

I used to complain about how hard it is to cook for one, because I always had so much left over and felt like I was often wasting ingredients when they went bad before I could consume them all. I was missing the upside, which was that after I invested all the time in making a big meal, I was set with leftovers for a bit. Not so much now that I live with a hungry man. Now I hardly ever have leftovers and I feel like the food just goes so quickly!

Santa Fe Stuffed Capsicum

As long as there’s avocado…I shall be happy.

So I appreciate that this large batch recipe holds up well for leftovers and it’s super satisfying and healthy. I’ve already whined about the lack of black beans here, so I subbed another type of bean and added more corn. The other modification I made this round was that I used chicken instead of turkey. I haven’t found ground turkey here yet, but I did find “minced chicken”. Worked just as well!

This recipe is easy to modify, so try it with different proteins or go all-veg! It will always look cute when served in the pepper. Er, capsicum.

Leave a Reply

