Good Girl Train: Hummus Chicken & Veggies

Three weeks of vacation back home turned into a vacation from caring about what I eat or how much exercise I get. I don’t get to eat all this amazing US food anymore, I needed it ALL! It was glorious, but it’s time to get real and hop back on the good girl train. (I did pick up another great baking-with-mom recipe in the process, which I’ll tell you all about soon.) I got a good start this week in the fitness and food departments. Admittedly, this is one that isn’t so pretty, but it’s impressively delicious which is what really matters.

Veg Chop

At least produce is always pretty. Wishlist: pretty cutting board.

This EASY Hummus-Crusted Chicken recipe from gimmesomeoven is a great way to get a lot of protein and veggies in one pan. I never would have thought to bake chicken topped with hummus, but now that you’re thinking about it, it sounds pretty good, doesn’t it? Now consider chopping up some squash and onions and cooking them all together as one healthy, happy, flavorful meal. Yum, and so little cleanup to go with it. It’s also gluten-free and low-carb, if those are things that matter in your life. Perfect for your post-workout dinner! I even used a disposable pan this time…so it really couldn’t get easier.

Zuc and Onion

Veggie layer with zucchini, onion, olive oil, s&p.

I follow the recipe from gimmesomeoven pretty closely, except that I have skipped the lemon slices on occasion and I use regular paprika because I don’t like smoked. I have found that flavored hummus makes it extra tasty, infusing a lot of extra flavor into the chicken. If you go this route, I recommend Trader Joe’s three-layer hummus. (Do it in my honor, since I’m living in a Trader Joe’s-less world.) You can omit the onions if you’re not a fan, add garlic cloves, or change up the squash. For example, I have made this with nothing but zucchini and chicken and been happy with the outcome.

Hummus Chicken

Enjoy!

Serve with a glass of wine and enjoy, you deserve it!

2 thoughts on “Good Girl Train: Hummus Chicken & Veggies

Leave a Reply

