Aside

HBD America: Pinterest vs. Reality

I would love to get a little patriotic and host a party here in Dubai for the 4th. In my Pinterest dreams, said party would look something like this:

Pinterest 4th

Adorable patriotic party foods! Find recipe links here.

Then I remembered anyone I know who would really appreciate such details doesn’t live here, and I’d be hosting primarily former military dudes. Let’s be real, it would probably look more like this:

Real 4th

Which is also fun…

Also, am I really going to cut fruit into star shapes? How long does it actually take to make triple layer jello shots? Where would I even find blue sprinkles around here? If you are more ambitious than I am this holiday weekend and want to find the how-to’s for all that really cute stuff, check out my “Happy Birthday America” Pinterest board and please let me know if you try one!

Even if we just have a party of two and a few American beers, I’m still planning to wear my patriotic striped sailor shorts. Happy Birthday, America!

4 thoughts on “HBD America: Pinterest vs. Reality

  1. Karen says:

    Yes, all good plans…. I considered the white chocolate strawberries but saw had to melt chocolate in a double boiler and definitely don’t have one of those. Also, I’m IN america but still too lazy to find blue sprinkles πŸ™‚ Happy 4th!

    Like

  2. I’m pretty sure that is colored sugar that the strawberries are dipped in and that is super easy to make yourself. Just sugar and food coloring. And, yes, I do believe you would cut fruit into star shapes. Either that or you’d pull out a star shaped cookie cutter and get it done the easy way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

